Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: Memnon, a musical score for ballet, together with a study of twentieth-century tonality and line through analysis of Debussy's "Fetes galantes" Book II, Stravinsky's "Agon" and Tippett's "Sonata no. 3 for Piano"
Author: Waite, Mike
Awarding Body: University of Leicester
Current Institution: University of Leicester
Date of Award: 1994
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Access from Institution:
Memnon is an abstract ballet for eight dancers: four female, four male. It has eleven movements scored alternately for full orchestra and two pianos. The composition and accompanying study share a concern with tonality. The purpose of the study is to illuminate aspects of the compositional procedures of Memnon, specifically its tonality and line, and to relate Memnon and other compositions by the author to contemporary music. The method employed is to analyse three works, Debussy's Fetes Galantes Book II, Stravinsky's Agon and Tippett's Sonata No. 3 for Piano, which have proved influential in the author's style of composition, and which are outstanding representations of a living tradition of which the author's ballet suite forms part. In conclusion, those features of tonality and line illuminated by analysis are related to the author's own work.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available