Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: A study of Samuel Beckett's novels
Author: Somerville, Mart F.
Awarding Body: University of Edinburgh
Current Institution: University of Edinburgh
Date of Award: 1971
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Full text unavailable from EThOS. Please try the link below.
Access from Institution:
In this thesis Samuel Beckett's novels are examined in chronological order with the intention of tracing the developments in form that his fiction has generated over the years. A chapter is devoted to each of the six major novels: the early English works, 'Murphy' and 'Watt', the three novels of the French Trilogy, 'Molloy', 'Malone meurt' and 'L'innommable', and the later French novel, 'Comment c'est'. The novels are analysed in detail from a structural point of view with particular reference to the self-conscious creative process. The novelist's approach to the problems of creating a fictional world, its characters, its action, its organisation, is studied with the object of revealing the significance of the resulting form. The conclusion attempts to relate Beckett's modifications of the novel form to his concept of art. We find that art, for Beckett, is not so much a means of expressing his vision as that vision itself; art is a way of exploring reality, of coming to terms with the human condition and probing to the heart of self. Art is an approach to life. While his prose fiction continues to follow the inward road to the core of self, we find that, once the outer world recedes beyond the range of imaginative evocation, the structure of the novel can no longer be achieved.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available