Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: The development of form and style in eighteenth century Salzburg church music
Author: Maitland, Alison I.
Awarding Body: University of Aberdeen
Current Institution: University of Aberdeen
Date of Award: 1972
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Full text unavailable from EThOS. Please try the link below.
Access from Institution:
This thesis presents an examination of the development of form and style in eighteenth century Salzburg church music, through a study of the church works of four main composers - Johann Ernst Eberlin (1702-62), Leopold Mozart (1719-87),. Anton Cajetan Adlgasser (1729-77) and Johann Michael Haydn (1737-1806). An introductory chapter fills in the background to this period in Salzburg's musical history* after 'which the chapters are devoted respectively to the Mass, the Requiem, the Litany, Vespers, and the Gradual and Offertory, In the final chapter, an assessment is made of the Salzburg church music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, in the light of the preceding chapters, when his close alliance with local tradition in matters of form and style is evident. Editions of the following works are also provided; ¦tLs!1 ann Ernst Eberlin Gradual; Chnstus factus est Requiem in D minor Vesperao de Dominica Loopold Mozart Missa in Gd Anton Cajetan ftdlgasser Missa in Am Johann Michael Haydn Litaniae de S.S. Nomine Jesu.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available