Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: Portfolio of original compositions
Author: Cooke, Phillip A.
Awarding Body: Cardiff University
Current Institution: Cardiff University
Date of Award: 2007
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Access from Institution:
Three Pieces comprises three works written at different times over the period 2003--2005, arranged for full orchestra in January--March 2007. The first piece Intrada was written for the London Contemporary Music Group's inaugural concert in October 2005 it was initially scored for large chamber ensemble of 14 players (essentially a chamber orchestra) and I had always felt it would benefit from being arranged for full orchestra. The third piece Dance was written for the Oxford Millennium Orchestra in March 2005, and was already scored for orchestra. I revised the work in March 2007, adding percussion and harp and re-scoring some of the bass textures. The second piece, Elegy has a more chequered history as it is essentially a composite of several pieces and ideas the main bones of the work are from an organ piece I wrote in March 2003 for the funeral of a close friend. After this occasion I spent years trying to write an elegiac orchestral work in her memory, though was eventually over-burdened by the enormity of this idea. Elegy therefore fuses together elements from the organ work, with many different fragments from the elegiac sketches. The three works form a very useful fast-slow-fast form, and therefore work well as a set of thee pieces however, having wrote all three as individual pieces they can and should be played separately.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available