Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: Portfolio of compositions
Author: Luque Ancona, Sergio
ISNI:       0000 0004 2719 7253
Awarding Body: University of Birmingham
Current Institution: University of Birmingham
Date of Award: 2012
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Full text unavailable from EThOS. Thesis embargoed until 30 Sep 2081
Access from Institution:
A portfolio of compositions for acoustic instruments, electronic resources alone, and for acoustic instruments and live electronics. The accompanying commentary describes the aesthetic and the context of these works, their approach to form, and traces the development of the techniques used in their composition. In particular, it discusses a variety of approaches to computer-aided algorithmic composition and stochastic processes for the generation of musical elements (e.g. chord sequences, rhythmic patterns, sound structures). Included in the commentary is a description of research into stochastic synthesis, and of the development of a personal implementation of Dynamic Stochastic Synthesis and Stochastic Concatenation of Dynamic Stochastic Synthesis in SuperCollider. LIST OF WORKS Surveillance (2011) for computer 15:00 Daisy (2011) for computer 9:40 Absorbed (2010) for 2 violas 9:00 My idea of fun (2010) for clarinet, percussion and viola 7:00 Brazil (2009) for computer 8:10 Spine (2008) for English horn, percussion, violin and double bass 8:30 "Sex, Drugs and Rock 'n Roll" was never meant to be like this (2007) for computer 9:40 Don't have any evidence (2007) for bass flute, English horn, bass clarinet, bassoon, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass 9:30 Happy Birthday (2006/2007) for computer 8:00 Résistance (2006) for accordion 4:00 My life has been filled with terrible misfortune; most of which never happened (2004) for bass clarinet, violin, viola, cello, double bass and live electronics 9:00.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available
Keywords: M Music ; QA76 Computer software