Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: CuDAS : an interactive curriculum combining pedagogic composition with interactive software for the teaching of music technology
Author: Leaman, Oliver
ISNI:       0000 0004 2708 9674
Awarding Body: Brunel University
Current Institution: Brunel University
Date of Award: 2010
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Access from Institution:
Within the framework of education of Music Technology for 16-18 year olds there exists a lack of thorough teaching and learning resources sufficient for a broad understanding of the basics of audio and electronic synthesis. This PhD submission outlines the role of the composer in the classroom in addressing this fundamental issue through the development of a curriculum containing pedagogic composition and interactive software. There will be a discussion of the principles of pedagogic methodologies developed by various composers and of the current model of learning provided in Music Technology Alevel. The programming tools used to develop the software are investigated, as well as an exploration into the current learning psychology that informed the curriculum development. This submission consists of a written thesis that accompanies a set of compositions and a multimedia DVD, which includes the software for the CuDAS curriculum. Within this software is contained a presentation of a series of interactive tutorials alongside compositions in the form of scores, recordings and interactive exercises. There is also include written supporting documentation and sound files of techniques and recordings from contrasting genres of music history.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available
Keywords: Kodaly ; Orff ; Wiegold ; Clarke ; Max MSP ; Edexcel A-level ; Live electronics, acoustics and audio snthesis ; Stockhausen and Schaeffer