Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: Portfolio of compositions : five compositions for solo instruments with accompaniment
Author: Ip, Kim Kuok
ISNI:       0000 0004 2702 1450
Awarding Body: University of Salford
Current Institution: University of Salford
Date of Award: 2011
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Full text unavailable from EThOS. Thesis embargoed until 31 Jul 2023
Access from Institution:
This PhD thesis consists of a portfolio of musical compositions for solo instruments with accompaniment. The portfolio, which contains absolute and programme music, includes two largescale works: Piano Concerto with Symphony Orchestra Fok Siu Yok and Saxophone Concerto with Symphonic Band - Pimenta. There is also music for Clarinet, Violin and Guzheng (A Chinese "Zither like" instrument). The principal of the thesis is specifically researching about Chinese tradition music, including its folk tunes, religious music and opera music. The portfolio shows the endeavors of putting these kinds of musical materials into classical musical composition: containing tonal, modal and serial works. Nevertheless, other elements like jazz and Fado (a type of Portuguese singing) are also attempted in some pieces of this portfolio. Dukkha, Havoc in the Heavenly Kingdom and Pimenta were premiered in Macau (Small Auditorium, Macao cultural centre) on 3rd October 2010.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available