Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: A portfolio of eleven compositions with an accompanying commentary submitted for the degree of PhD in Music Composition at the University of Aberdeen
Author: Tierney, Paul
ISNI:       0000 0004 2690 1085
Awarding Body: University of Aberdeen
Current Institution: University of Aberdeen
Date of Award: 2010
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Full text unavailable from EThOS. Please try the link below.
Access from Institution:
This portfolio of eleven scores and an accompanying commentary is an in depth investigation into the use and development of compositional techniques over a wide range of instrumental and vocal combinations.  The scores submitted trace my development as a composer by considering research questions related to structural organisation, harmonic and rhythmic development and how external sources, particularly visual and literary, can be used as a starting point for the compositional process. Included in the portfolio are eleven works, categorised into three sections: instrumental music, solo works, and vocal music. The portfolio researches and examines elements of composition such as harmony, texture and timbral relationships, as well as the use of visual and literary art as a stimulus for composition across all of the instrumental and vocal combinations included.  My interest in the combination of pre-existing compositional methods such as serialism, with particular regards to pitch, and atonality is also examined in many of the scores and documented in the accompanying commentary.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available
Keywords: Composition (Music) ; Violin and piano music ; String quartets