Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: I. On Process II. Portfolio of Compositions
Author: Hammond, David Andrew
ISNI:       0000 0004 2686 7577
Awarding Body: University of Glasgow
Current Institution: University of Glasgow
Date of Award: 2009
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Access from Institution:
I. Process: In this essay, the first chapter deals with my concentration on process in music composition, which holds as much importance to my practice as a composer as does the attention given to finished pieces. I include formative experiences with the music of Claude Debussy, Béla Bartók, John Cage and Franco Donatoni. In the second chapter, I explore my own process of composing by looking into each of the ten individual pieces from my PhD Portfolio of Compositions. II. Portfolio of Compositions: 1. Elegy for Fir Tree for eight strings (2004) 2. Coyote Nocturne for flute, violin and piano (2006) 3. The Indian Fort Theatre for string quartet (2006) 4. Three Moths for flute, piano and bass clarinet (2006) 5. Catalyst of Filament for celesta, harp and harmonium (2006) 6. Twister Season for vibraphone, marimba, two pianos, cello and double bass (2006) 7. Six Journeys for bass clarinet and piano (2006/2007) 8. horrifictionalexander graham belladonna for flute, guitar and bass clarinet (2007) 9. Stalking the Unseeable Animal for flute, clarinet, piano and string quartet (2007) 10. The Lightning Bug Hour for flute, vibraphone and piano (2008)
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available
Keywords: NX Arts in general ; M Music