Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: Four musical compositions (with accompanying notes) : Prezzo Concertante for symphony orchestra; Concerto for bassoon and chamber orchestra; Sea Gods for 8-part chorus; Improvisation for wind quintet
Author: Dodd, Raymond H.
ISNI:       0000 0001 3426 9524
Awarding Body: University of Aberdeen
Current Institution: University of Aberdeen
Date of Award: 1995
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
The grouping of these four compositions is intended to create a balanced portfolio, illustrating the management of a variety of forms, media and compositional problems. The submission divides into two parts: Part I - The Compositions: (i) Pezzo Concertante A single-movement orchestral piece for double woodwind; 4 horns; 3 trumpets; 3 trombones; tuba; timpani; 4 percussionists; harp; strings. Duration c 11' This piece is a single-movement structure, compact and complete in itself, with some display elements for each section of the orchestra. It aims to provide both an interesting challenge for professional orchestral players and a strong and direct audience appeal. (ii) Concerto for Bassoon and Chamber Orchestra. In addition to the solo part it is scored for flute; clarinet; oboe; 2 horns; trumpet; trombone; strings. Duration c 15' This work plays continuously but is subdivisible into five sections of which the first three are virtually separate movements. It is designed to have an almost chamber-musical intimacy, while at the same time giving the soloist an opportunity to display many of the possibilities of the instrument. (iii) Sea Gods This is a setting for 8-part choir of a poem by H.D. (Hilda Doolittle). Duration c 7'30'' The setting was planned for a professional choir of not fewer than 16 singers, but could be very effective sung by a large chorus. It attempts to match the vivid imagery and intense feeling of H.D.'s powerful poem. (iv) Improvisation for Wind Quintet A single-movement work. Duration c 5' This short piece was written in 1991 for the Albany Wind Quintet who gave its first performance. Part II - The Notes: These explain some of the motivations and aims which inspired each piece. A short description of each work is given, together with a brief account of some of the underlying compositional techniques and considerations.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available
Keywords: Literature