Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: Portfolio of compositions with technical commentary
Author: Hong, Jimin
ISNI:       0000 0004 5991 1888
Awarding Body: King's College London
Current Institution: King's College London (University of London)
Date of Award: 2016
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Full text unavailable from EThOS. Restricted access.
Access from Institution:
This portfolio of compositions consists of seven works ranging from a solo piece to a work for orchestra, exploring personal ways of creating extended musical textures unified by a small number of motivic cells. The accompanying commentary addresses the compositional process and techniques used in each work as well as issues running through the portfolio. The following compositions are included and discussed: 1. Monologue, for solo oboe, explores the possibility of creating an extended work largely determined by a single interval. 2. The predominantly polyphonic textures of So-Myoung (for violin, cello and piano) are based on two short motivic fragments. 3. Let There Be Light (for chamber ensemble) is based on the expansion of a single motive. 4. The Seven Signs (for large orchestra) explores complex musical textures and is laden with symbolic intentions. 5. String Quartet deals with heterophonic textures and certain aspects of conventional modes of development. 6. Fantasie (for piano) exhibits freely developed musical textures based on three short motives. 7. Shine (for two pianos and percussion) brings together the techniques mentioned above.
Supervisor: Milstein, Silvina Raquel ; Benjamin, George William Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available