Use this URL to cite or link to this record in EThOS:
Title: A portfolio of compositions and commentary
Author: Nesbit, Edward
Awarding Body: King's College London (University of London)
Current Institution: King's College London (University of London)
Date of Award: 2013
Availability of Full Text:
Access from EThOS:
Access from Institution:
This portfolio consists of seven compositions: 1. Antiphonies (5 players) 2. The Forest (chamber orchestra) 3. A Pretence of Wit (soprano and piano) 4. Concerto (solo violin and seven players) 5. Parallels (symphony orchestra) 6. Chants of Night (15 players) 7. Deor (baritone and 10 players). In these pieces I explore a variety of melodic styles. Some of the melodic material is very formal and regular, and involves a high degree of internal repetition, while some is irregular and quasi-improvisatory, involving only a minimal degree of internal repetition. Most of the melodic material, however, exists somewhere between these two poles. I investigate the many different roles which such melodies can play in a musical structure. These pieces espouse a structural thinking encompassing a wide variety of material, but attempt to find unity and coherence even within the most extreme of contrasts. Each of these pieces also constitutes a dialogue, more or less explicit, with other works of art and artistic ideas. This dialogue is sometimes with works of literature, particularly in the works which involve the setting of text, but is more commonly with other composers and pieces of music.
Supervisor: Not available Sponsor: Not available
Qualification Name: Thesis (Ph.D.) Qualification Level: Doctoral
EThOS ID:  DOI: Not available